Subject Guide
Databases
- African American Studies CenterThe Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 8,000 full-text articles focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. It includes over 1,300 images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, and maps. Charts and tables offer information on everything from demographics to government and politics to business and labor to education and the arts.
- Biography in ContextThis database combines biographies and full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
- JSTORJSTOR is a database containing articles on a wide range of subjects including. This database has over 4000 titles related to Sociology.
Books
Heart and Soul by Call Number: E185 .N427 2011ISBN: 9780061730740Publication Date: 2011-09-27
Africana Studies by Call Number: E184.7 .A317 2007ISBN: 9780874222944Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Africana by Call Number: Reference DT14 .A37435 2005ISBN: 0195170555Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Websites
- USA.gov American HistoryThis website provides government information on history topics and resources.
- African American History MonthThis site sponsored by the Library of Congress pays tribute to African Americans that struggled to achieve full citizenship in American society.