This is the "Home" page of the "Physicians Assistant" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physicians Assistant  

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2015 URL: http://umes.libguides.com/phys_asst Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Libguide

Welcome to the Physician Assistant Libguide. This page is a place to find links to databases, websites and some books that are relevant to your studies in the Physician Assistant department. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

Joseph Bree

Access Services Librarian

410-651-6270

jdbree@umes.edu

 

Databases

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus, is a goldmine of good health information from the world's largest medical library, the National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions.

MEDLINE with MESH

Provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. Covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning and administration of services.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health    
This comprehensive database covers a broad range of biomedical, nursing, psychology, health management, and consumer health topics. This database contains full-text.

Health Source: Consumer Edition 
This resource provides access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health periodicals as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 300 periodicals. Also included in this database is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 145 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society; more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); and Stedman's Medical Dictionary, which provides users with access to terminology of genetics, oncology, pediatrics, pulmonology, emergency medicine, bacteriology, and laboratory medicine. In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

 

Books

Cover Art
Medical Terminology - Barbara Janson Cohen; Ann DePetris
ISBN: 9781451187564
Publication Date: 2013-02-25

Cover Art
Let Me Heal - Kenneth M. Ludmerer
ISBN: 9780199744541
Publication Date: 2014-10-01

Cover Art
Physician Assistant: a Guide to Clinical Practice - Ruth Ballweg; Edward M. Sullivan; Darwin Brown; Daniel Vetrosky
ISBN: 9781455706570
Publication Date: 2013-02-08

Librarian

Profile Image
Joseph Bree
Contact Info
Office phone: 410-651-6270
ILL Desk: 410-651-6606
Send Email

Websites

American Academy of Physician Assistans

The national professional society for physician assistants. It represents a profession of more than 100,000 certified PAs across all medical and surgical specialties. AAPA works to ensure the professional growth, personal excellence and recognition of physician assistants. It also enhances their ability to improve the quality, accessibility and cost-effectiveness of patient-centered healthcare.

National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA)

Students can locate all pertinent information regarding earning and maintaining certification.

Student Academy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants 

Provides "clinical pearls" organized by specialty; "survival skills" a forum where PA students trade helpful information on making it in school; and "hyperlinks" to other medical organizations' web sites.

Association of Family Practice Physician Assistants 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip